Saltar para o conteúdo

Celfocus Merit Award in Software Engineering

Awarding of an annual academic merit prize to the students who integrate the best team in the Software Engineering Curricular Unit of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering of IST.

Target audience and application conditions

Candidates to the Celfocus Software Engineering Prize are all IST students enrolled in the curricular unit of Software Engineering of the Computer Engineering Department of IST, specifically the teams formed within the subject, with a maximum of 2 elements each.

Rules and Conditions

1. In the first phase, the sub-teams will be ranked according to their final average classification in the course unit, namely the final classification in the project to be developed in the subject in the academic year in question, together with the classification in the different phases of the project, as well as according to their classification in the final exam of the first season of the course unit, down to the hundredths, and as assessed by the jury.

2. Up to 3 teams will be selected for the final pitch, according to the above ranking criteria.

3. In the final phase, the jury will assess each team based on the 10-minute pitch, followed by a 5 minute round of questions and answers, according to the following criteria:

a. Project execution;

b. Presentation of results;

c. Communication skills.


  • A monetary prize to be awarded to the winning project – 2.500€;
  • Donation for improving the quality of education – 1.670€


The jury panel must be composed of more than one IST faculty member so that they have a majority of the votes.

(See regulation of the respective academic year for more information).

Winners of Celfocus/ Novabase Merit Award in Software Engineering

Edition Project Team Award
2017/2018 Extramile Bernado Andrade; Ivan Zarro; João Almeida; José Ferrão; Nuno Bombico; Samuel Santos 1.250€
2018/2019 TravelHub Francisco Matos; Pedro Custódio; Pedro Bernardo 1.250€


es20al_18 Daniel Serafim; Daniel Matos; João Dinis; Tiago Fonseca; Tomás Inácio 1.250€
AtLETIco F.C Afonso Sousa; André Marques; João Achando; Miguel Franco; Oleksandr Stopchak; Ricardo Vaz 1.250€
2020/2021 Quizzes Tutor André Ferreira do Nascimento; Duarte Constantino Bento; Susana Moreno Monteiro 1.325€
2021/2022 Quizzes Tutor Afonso Felizardo Pinto e Sidnei Martins Teixeira 1.325€
2022/2023 Quizzes Tutor Diogo Gaspar e Tomás Esteves 1.325€
2023/2024 waiting selection 2.500€


See Portuguese version



Núcleo de Parcerias Empresariais

close navigation
close Search